Memorial Day Sweets

flag

On a day like today, what better way to honor the brave then with some homemade sweets?

I decided to make some red, white and blue sugar cookies and red velvet cupcakes.

With the sugar cookies, I mixed together Wilton red, white and blue sugar sprinkles in a small bowl. After scooping the cookie batter, I dipped the top half into the sugar mixture and placed them on the baking tray.

DSC_0501
Patriotic Sugar Cookies.

When they come out of the oven, they are evenly spread out and look great.

DSC_0507
Red White & Blue Sugar Cookies Just Out Of The Oven.

After the cookies, I made Paula Deen’s red velvet cupcakes.

DSC_0534
Perfect Shade Of Red.

The recipe also includes a delicious cream cheese frosting which I topped with blue sugar sprinkles.

DSC_0542
Frosting With The Star Tip Really Makes The Cupcakes Look Like Stars.

The final product is the perfect way to honor and remember the past and present servicemen and women who protect us.

DSC_0557
A Little Slice Of Red White & Blue Heaven.

I delivered all these Memorial Day sweets to my local police and fire department. Shout out to the San Gabriel Police Department and the San Gabriel Fire Department Station 51.

Hope everyone had a great Memorial Day. All my love to the servicemen and women ♥.

memorial day

Stay tuned to see where baking and desserts will lead me next.

Always looking for my little piece of heaven,

Julie ♥

*All photos by yours truly 🙂

Leave a Reply

