Mother’s Day Desserts and More

DSC_0207
HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

 

I hope everyone enjoyed their Mother’s Day yesterday. I know I enjoyed the day, even all the grueling work that went into the dinner.

Mother’s Day is dedicated to the hard working moms all around the world and I am grateful for my mom and the moms around me. Moms are superheroes that relentlessly work and don’t look for praise or recognition. So the second Sunday of May is the perfect time to pile on additional praise to the acknowledgment that we already *wink wink* give to our moms.

For dinner, what our moms want, they got. So we had Mexican food for dinner, tacos, carne asada, nachos, salad, guacamole…the whole enchilada. Then for dessert, we ordered an amazing Cuban cake from Porto’s, a bakery in Glendale, CA.

It was a delicious Cuban cake with a buttercream frosting and rosette designs. The quarter sheet cake was more than enough for 20 people plus some pieces to take home for our dads.

Cuban Cake From Porto's.
Cuban Cake From Porto’s.

The cake was moist and sweet, but not too sweet. I’ve had it with fresh strawberries for my birthday and it just made it that much better. This cake was perfect for our parents because they don’t like anything overly sweet but sweet enough for us youngins :P.

I also threw in some of my arts and crafty side as gifts for the moms. I made Styrofoam and cardboard floral letters.

DSC_0263
Floral Ms for M♥M.

 

DSC_0270
My Uncle Trying To Be Funny. He Added Plates So Now It Spells MOM M♥M MOM.

Stay tuned to see where baking and desserts will lead me next.

Always looking for my little piece of heaven,

Julie ♥

*All photos by yours truly 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

