Milk’s Favorite Cupcake

Are you a twister or a dunker?

That’s the question when it comes to Oreos. The way you eat an Oreo says something about who you are. Kraft set out to survey 2,000 Oreo eaters to find out if there is a correlation between how someone eats the Oreo and personality type. I personally love to dunk my Oreo into a nice, cold glass of milk. Just talking about it makes me crave “Milk’s Favorite Cookie.”

Screenshot (110)
Kraft 2004 Oreo Eater Survey.

We have Nabisco to thank for America’s favorite cookie. An interesting fact is that Americans consume about 20.5 million Oreos every day. I’m pretty sure that gives Oreo the bragging rights to be called AMERICA’S FAVORITE COOKIE.

Oreos have been around since 1912 when Nabisco introduced a new cookie sandwich in which two crunchy chocolate cookies surrounded an amazing crème filling.

My love of these incredible cookies transferred to my love for baking. I was already intrigued with incorporating candies and cookies into my baking, so when I found this recipe for an Oreo cupcake surprise, I knew I had to make them.

This recipe calls for buttermilk, and until the first time I tried it, I would have never have thought to put buttermilk into a sweet cupcake. I have only used buttermilk for savory recipes like cornbread or biscuits. Boy, was I wrong. The buttermilk made the cake moist and delicious.

DSC_0032
These Cupcakes Are Ready To Be Eaten.

 

The frosting is absolutely to die for. Good homemade frosting is usually time consuming and difficult because you need the right consistency. This recipe almost duplicates the crème filling of an Oreo, so the time and energy was well worth it. With the addition of crushed Oreo cookies without the filling, it also looks great for presentation.

The frosting is thicker, so my hand was cramping up halfway through frosting the cupcakes. Sore hands aside, using the star tip and a disposable piping bag were worth it. The end results were “the icing on the cake.”

DSC_0006 (2)
Oreo Cookie and Creme Butter Cream Frosting.

I used an Asian mortar and pestle to help crush the cookies to leave fine crumbs for the frosting. The one I have is granite, and it was a pain to carry out from the cupboard. That thing is seriously heavy.

DSC_0038
Really Heavy Mortar & Pestle.

I now decree these cupcakes Milk’s Favorite Cupcake.

DSC_0015 (2)
Oreo Cupcakes Dressed To The Nines.

Now, the SURPRISE! in the Oreo cupcake surprise.

DSC_0006
Surprise!! Oreo Cookie At The Bottom.

 

There are endless possibilities with the Oreo. In fact, Nabisco has many recipes that feature the cookie. Nabisco also has a campaign to encourage people to have fun with Oreos and share it with the world. People can use the hashtag #playwithoreo to show the world how they use Oreos in their own sweet treats.

All of the cupcakes were eaten rather quickly, which is a great indication of how this baking adventure was a complete success.

Not only did I incorporate the best cookie ever into something I love, but I also get to feature my 10-months-old dog in this post.

 

Too Hot To Handle.
Too Hot To Handle.
Oreo Caught Being Mischievous
Oreo Caught Being Mischievous

Stay tuned to see where baking and desserts will lead me next.

Always looking for my just dessert,

Julie ♥

*All photos by yours truly 🙂

4 thoughts on “Milk’s Favorite Cupcake

Leave a Reply

